Home / News / Prof. Frimpong-Boateng, Okyeame Kwame, Others Honoured at People’s Choice Practitioners Awards
Prof. Frimpong-Boateng, Okyeame Kwame, Others Honoured at PCP Honours

Prof. Frimpong-Boateng, Okyeame Kwame, Others Honoured at People’s Choice Practitioners Awards

The People’s Choice Practitioners Awards, organised by Media Men Ghana has on Friday, 14th April 2017 honoured a number of Ghanaian individuals and groups contributing to the learning and practice of health in Ghana.

The event, graced by his Majesty Otumfuo Osei Tutu II and chaired by Prof. Joseph Acheampong brought together distinguished personalities at the Golden Tulip Hotel in Kumasi. The award scheme in its maiden edition, is a national medico-social initiative geared towards celebrating excellence in the health sector.

Prominent among the awardees is renowned heart surgeon and Minister for Environment, Science and Technology, Hon. Professor Kwabena Frimpong Boateng who was awarded “Legend of the Year”; musician and Hepatitis B icon, Okyeame Kwame who received “Outstanding Health Ambassador”.

The scheme saw other notable Ghanaian winners in varying disciplines of health which includes Bishop Dag Heward Mills, DCOP Dr Ebenezer Ewusi-Emmim, Dr Mike Agyekum Addo, Dr. Bryite Asamoah, Dr. Ellen Boakye, Dr. Kwaku Oteng, Dr. Osei Kwame Despite, Dr. Richard Selormey, Sara Nana Yeboah and Ellen Boakye and many others.


The ultimate chief celebrant, Prof. Kwabena Frimpong-Boateng is the pioneer of Ghana’s first cardiothoracic centre. He was presented with a  24 quartz gold medal, a brass bust of him including him being named after a state of the art first aid centre constituting three ultra-modern Ambulances and a helicopter ambulance.

This honour will be one of other numerous laurels for versatile rapper and philanthropist Okyeame Kwame for his corporate social responsibility through his Hepatitis B since 2009. A month ago, he, for the same reason received the key to the city of Cincinnati.

CHECK THIS OUT:  Okyeame Kwame - Saucing ft. Sir x Sante (Official Video)

See full list of awardees below:

  1. Social Media Health Advocate
Benson Owusu
  1. Health App
Bisa App
  1. Forces Clinician
Dcop Dr Ebenezer Ewusi-Emmim
  1. Health Advocate–Social Event
Despite Group Blood Donation
  1. Pharmacist of the Year
Dr Agyekum Addo
  1. Versatile Clinician
Dr Mrs Gyikua Plange-Rhule
  1. Medical Officer
Dr Tabitha Botchway
  1. Health Advocate–Clinician
Dr. Bryite Asamoah
  1. Specialist Clinician
Dr. Daniel Kwesi Sabbah
Private Practice Clinician Dr. Edward Mahama
  1. Medical Student
Dr. Ellen Boakye
  1. Herbal Clinician
Dr. Kwaku Oteng
  1. Health Citizen
Dr. Osei Kwame Despite
  1. Locally Produced Drug
  1. Local Pharmaceutical Institution
Ernest Chemist
  1. Health Intern
Faustina Awuni Teni
  1. House Officer
Dr. Caleb Otu-Ansah
  1. Physician Assistant
Gloria Cabornu
  1. Health Food Product
  1. Private Health Facility
Holy Trinity Medical Centre/Spa
  1. Pharmaceutical Rep
Kwesi Pratt Yamoah
  1. Certified Registered Anesthetist
Samuel Assibi Akparibo
  1. Health Advocate–Media Program
Vodafone Healthline
  1. Associate Clinician – Allied Sciences
Naana Debrah
  1. Health Ambassador
Okyeame Kwame
  1. Unparalleled Rural Health Facility
Pediatorkope Hospital
  1. Health Advocate–Pharmaceutical
  1. Legend of the Year
Prof. Kwabena Frimpong-Boateng
  1. Herbal Health product
Pure Noni Juice
  1. PCP Clinician Leadership Award
Richard Selormey
  1. Most Urbanised health Facility
Ridge Hospital
  1. Associate Clinician – Ward
Sara Nana Yeboah
  1. Health Management Team
Tamale Teaching Hospital
  1. Most Prescribed Foreign Drug
Longest running Media health event TV3 Blood Donation Exercise
  1. Health Advocate–Media Institution
  1. Philanthropic and health Support Institution
Vodafone Ghana
CHECK THIS OUT:  Top 15 Richest Ghana Actors/Actresses And Their Net Worth

vibehubs.com | credit: dcleakers